Aska shines in crunch time as Beermen outlast Tropang Giga

TNT dictated the pace for most of the game, but San Miguel managed to make a crucial move towards the end and secured a victory with a score of 98-93.

The win allowed the Beermen to claim a share of the fourth spot in the PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup standings alongside NorthPort.

CJ Perez, Ivan Aska, and Jericho Cruz combined forces in the final 1:50 of the game, scoring six consecutive points to propel the league’s winningest franchise to their second consecutive win.

Despite playing without their supposed replacement import, Bennie Boatwright, who was sidelined due to a flu, Aska displayed his professionalism by contributing 25 points, nine rebounds, four assists, and three steals in almost 48 minutes of action.

However, his most significant contribution came in the form of a layup that gave the Beermen a 96-93 advantage with only 28 seconds remaining on the clock.

The Tropang Giga’s performance took a disappointing turn as they controlled the game for most of the way, only to falter and collapse in the final two minutes, missing all five of their field goal attempts.

The flagship team of the MVP group failed to hold on to the victory after Montalbo gave them a brief advantage with a score of 93-92 at the 2:25 mark. As a result, TNT’s record dropped to 4-4.

Perez contributed 20 points, seven rebounds, two assists, and two steals, while the returning Terrence Romeo added 14 points, three assists, two rebounds, and one steal.

The combined efforts of Calvin Oftana and Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, who scored a total of 53 points, went in vain. Oftana drained an impressive five three-pointers and finished with a game-high 27 points and 13 rebounds, while RHJ contributed 26 points and 15 boards.

Jayson Castro and Glenn Khobuntin chipped in 12 and 11 points, respectively.

The Beermen take a week off and go back into action on Christmas day against the Phoenix Super LPG Fuel Masters at the Big Dome.

The scores:

San Miguel 98 – Aska 25, Perez 20, Romeo 14, Tautuaa 9, Cruz 9, Lassiter 6, Brondial 6, Ross 5, Trollano 4.

TNT 93 – Oftana 27, Hollis-Jefferson 26, Castro 12, Khobuntin 11, Montalbo 7, Ponferrada 6, Ganuelas-Rosser 4, Reyes 0, Tungcab 0, Galinato 0, Aurin 0.

Quarterscores: 22-29, 45-52, 69-75, 98-93.

Back to top button